Guardian Nature School Contact Blog Project Noah Facebook Project Noah Twitter

A global citizen science platform
to discover, share and identify wildlife

Join Project Noah!
nature school apple icon

Nature School For Teachers - Fall 2020 Launch! visit nature school




Zebras are African equids best known for their distinctive black and white stripes. Their stripes come in different patterns unique to each individual. They are generally social animals that live in small harems to large herds. Unlike their closest relatives, horses and asses, zebras have never been truly domesticated. There are three species of zebras: the plains zebra, the Grévy's zebra and the mountain zebra. The plains zebra and the mountain zebra belong to the subgenus Hippotigris, but Grevy's zebra is the sole species of subgenus Dolichohippus. The latter resembles an ass, to which it is closely related, while the former two are more horse-like. All three belong to the genus Equus, along with other living equids.


They can be found in a variety of habitats, such as grasslands, savannas, woodlands, thorny scrublands, mountains, and coastal hills.

2 Species ID Suggestions

Paulix 9 years ago
Plains zebra
Equus quagga Plains Zebra
1Sarah2 9 years ago
Chapman's Zebra
Equus quagga chapmani Chapman's Zebra

Sign in to suggest organism ID

No Comments

Spotted by

Oshikoto, Namibia

Spotted on Jun 27, 2008
Submitted on Mar 4, 2011

Related Spottings

zebra Cape Mountain Zebra Zebra Plains Zebra

Nearby Spottings

Cape Ground Squirrel Black-winged Stilt Black backed Jackal Gemsbok


Noah Guardians
Noah Sponsors